Psalm types

In class on Monday, we will discuss Psalm types.  Choose a psalm and state which type of Psalm you believe it is and why as per our discussion in class.

About Jeremy

I work at Holy Ghost Catholic Church in Hammond, LA. I teach part-time classes from time to time, through Loyola University in New Orleans, Notre Dame Seminary in New Orleans and St. Joseph's Abbey and Seminary College. I also just finished a doctoral degree in Biblical languages through the University of Stellenbosch in South Africa.
This entry was posted in Course Material, Discussion. Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Psalm types

  1. Jade Tang says:

    Psalm 6: lamentation
    It follows the type scene of address, complaint, trust, deliverance, assurance and praise. And, it is addressed to an individual.

  2. Heejoong "PK" Kim says:

    Psalm 149
    The 3 elements of communal praise are call to praise, reasons for praise, and reiteration of call to praise.
    Psalm 149:1 begins with a call to praise. “Praise the Lord! Sing to the Lord a new song”
    Psalm 149:4 states one of the reasons for praise. “For the Lord takes pleasure in his people; he adorns the humble with victory.”
    Psalm 149:9 closes with another statement for praise. “Praise the Lord!”

  3. Caitlin Ordoyne says:

    Psalm 148
    Psalm 148 is a communal praise psalm. The three elements of call to praise, reason for praise, and reiteration of call to praise are all present.
    Call to praise- Psalm 148:1 “Praise the Lord!”
    Reason for Praise- Psalm 148:5-6 “Let them praise the name of the LORD, for he commanded and they were created. He established them forever and ever; he fixed their bounds, which cannot be passed.”
    Reiteration of call to praise- Psalm 148:14 “Praise the Lord!”

  4. Alex Hall says:

    Psalm 13 is a Psalm of Lament. Verse1 is an address to God. Verses 2 is a complaint against God. Trust in God is expressed in verse 5. Salvation and Assurance are not clearly present. Praise is implied in verse 6 by the line “I will sing to the Lord”.

  5. Alexis English says:

    Psalm 6, “Prayer for Recovery from Grave Illness,” is a psalm of lamentation. All of the elements of a psalm of lamentation are not present, but there are quite a few.

    Address: Verse 1 “O Lord, do not rebuke me in your anger, or discipline me in your wrath.”
    Complaint: Verse 2-4 “Be gracious to me, O Lord, for I am languishing; O Lord, heal me, for my bones are shaking with terror…”
    Trust: Verse 8 “Depart from me, all you workers of evil, for the Lord has heard the sound of my weeping.”
    Assurance: Verse 9 “The Lord has heard my supplication; the Lord accepts my prayer.”

  6. Jessica Williams says:

    Psalm 22: Song of lamentation that includes these elements – complaint – “My God, my God, why have you forsaken me? Then asking God and trusting him that he will deliver – “Deliver my soul from the sword; my darling from the power of the dog.” Then there is a promise of praise – “My praise shall be of thee in the great congregation: I will pay my vows before them that fear him.”

  7. Dante says:

    Psalms 108 – Praise and Prayer for Victory

    Call of Praise – 108: 1-3

    Reason to Praise – 108: 4-9

    I don’t think 10-12 fir in this type scene of a praise psalm

    Reiteration of Praise 108: 13

  8. Melissa Raymond says:

    Psalm 113 is a psalm of praise. There are three elements of a psalm of praise…a call to praise, reasons for praise, and reiteration of the call to praise.

    “Praise the lord” is the call to praise in the beginning of Psalm 113.
    “For the lord is high above the nations; his glory is far greater than the heavens” is reason for praise.
    The ending, “Praise the lord” is a clear reiteration of the call to praise.

  9. Ruth Carter says:

    Psalms 43- Prayer to God in Time of Trouble

    I think that Psalm 43 is a psalm of lament. There are 6 elements of a psalm of lament: Address, Complaint, Trust, Deliverance, Assurance, and Praise. In this psalm, not all of the elements are there and some must be interpreted, but I still think that this Psalm fits into the category of a psalm of Lament.

    (ADDRESS) 1. Vindicate me, O God, and plead my case against an ungodly nation;
    O deliver me from the deceitful and unjust man!

    (COMPLAINT) 2. For You are the God of my strength; why have You rejected me?
    Why do I go mourning because of the oppression of the enemy?

    (TRUST) 3. O send out Your light and Your truth, let them lead me;
    Let them bring me to Your holy hill
    And to Your dwelling places.
    (DELIVERANCE) 4. Then I will go to the altar of God,
    To God my exceeding joy;
    And upon the lyre I shall praise You, O God, my God.
    5. Why are you in despair, O my soul?
    And why are you disturbed within me?
    (PRAISE) Hope in God, for I shall again praise Him,
    The help of my countenance and my God.

  10. Naomi Stewart-Rubik says:

    Psalm 6 is a psalm of lament. The address is in the first verse, followed by the complaint in verses 2-4. Then you find trust, deliverance, and praise at the end of the psalm.

  11. John Hickey says:

    I choose Psalm 116, thanksgiving for recovery from illness. I think that this psalm is a psalm of praise. The psalm starts out with “i love the lord, because he has heard my voice..”. Which is the element of call to praise. He then goes to say that “the snares of death encompassed me”, and the goes on to say the lord saved his life. Which is the element of reasons for praise. And the psalm ends with “praise the lord”. Which is the element of Reiteration of call to praise.

  12. Amber Donewar says:

    Psalm 6: Lamentation
    It includes all 6 elements: Address (1-4), Complaint (5-7), Trust (8), Deliverance (9), Assurance (10), Praise (10).

  13. Marielly says:

    Psalm 3 is a psalm of lament:
    1) Address is found in verse 1: ‘LORD, how many are my foes! How many rise up against me!’
    2) Complaint is found in verse 2: ‘Many are saying of me, “God will not deliver him.”’
    3) Trust is found in verse 3-4: ‘But you, LORD, are a shield around me, my glory, the One who lifts my head high. I call out to the LORD, and he answers me from his holy mountain.’
    4) Deliverance is found in verse 5-6: ‘ I lie down and sleep; I wake again, because the LORD sustains me. I will not fear though tens of thousands assail me on every side.
    5) Assurance is found in verse 7: ‘Arise, LORD! Deliver me, my God! Strike all my enemies on the jaw; break the teeth of the wicked.
    6) Praise is found in verse 8: ‘From the LORD comes deliverance. May your blessing be on your people.’

Leave a Reply

